main menu page title feature menus content footer
My Florida C F O

CFO's Initiatives

Stay Connected

Follow the
Department of
Financial Services

Sign up for the CFO's

Press Release

News   RSS RSS   Press Office   Archive

Credit Scoring Task Force to Meet November 19th in Jacksonville


TALLAHASSEE - Members of a task force created to examine insurance companies' use of credit reports in underwriting automobile and homeowners' insurance policies will meet Monday, November 19, 2001, at the University of North Florida, 12000 Alumni Drive, University Center, Room 1044 BH-1 in Jacksonville. The meeting is scheduled from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. The public is invited to attend and give testimony.

Members of the task force include:

Bill O'Neil, Chair, Attorney, Sarasota; State Senator Bill Posey, Rockledge; State Representative Leslie Waters, Largo; David "Birny" Birnbaum, Executive Director, Center for Economic Justice, Austin, TX; Elsie Crowell, Insurance Consumer Advocate, Tallahassee; Yolanda Williams, Consumer, St. Petersburg; Rick Combs, Insurance Agent, Winter Park; Prentiss Mitchell, Representative, NAII (National Association of Independent Insurers).

A previous meeting was held at Florida International University in Miami on October 30th, and one is scheduled for December 10th at the University of South Florida in Tampa.

Treasurer and Insurance Commissioner Tom Gallagher created the task force in September after learning that an increasing number of insurers are using credit history, or lack of one, when deciding whether to offer coverage, renew an existing policy or offer a preferred rate. Gallagher cited concern with insurers denying coverage or increasing rates based solely on credit reports.

Consumers living in the Jacksonville area who suspect that credit history played a role in denied or more expensive coverage can attend the task force meeting or call the department's Consumer Helpline at 1-800-342-2762. Gallagher expects the task force to develop recommendations for potential legislation and/or department rule by December, 2001.